C is for Computers

C was at one point going to be about caffeine. I only got into coffee maybe three years ago, previously I would drink it but only one cup a day and I didn’t particularly like the taste much. Now to keep me awake and warm at work, some days I drink three or four cups.

Anyway, that is not what C is for. I decided I would make C stand for Computers. At school I wanted to be a veterinary nurse as I loved animals. I went to the vet that we used for our pets at the time for my work experience. They did not usually take work experience pupils but let me go. It was okay but I didn’t like the vet, he wasn’t that nice to me, and I guess I just decided perhaps it wasn’t the career choice for me. There was also the issue where I was not very good at biology and chemistry, subjects which you needed good grades on. I applied for an animal college course and was accepted, but you had to stay on the grounds and me being my shy self was scared by this, and for some reason (i’m not sure why) I ended up applying for computer courses. Three years later I had an honours degree and my first job. Seven years afterwards, I am still in that same job. My degree was programming but this is not what I do at my job. All that knowledge has been wasted and I do technical support. Something I was over qualified for but was happy to get a job. There are times that I wonder why I didn’t move on and go somewhere else, somewhere that my skills could be used, but I guess I have just became stuck in a routine. A rut. Perhaps this will be me until retirement. Do I enjoy it? Some days.

All day I sit at a computer, then at nights I sit at a laptop. At nights, I love my computer. Going on Tumblr, checking my emails, seeing what’s happening on Twitter. Also writing, making gifs and videos, reading fanfic. But at work, I don’t know if I can say the same.

So C is for Computers. A large part of my life. Not always for the best. But always present.

10 thoughts on “C is for Computers

  1. Joe Owens says:

    I cannot imagine my life without a computer. My job uses a computer and so I would be doing something else. I would also not be able to enjoy blogging and finding writing contests. i am glad computers are here to stay.

  2. Sisyphus47 says:

    same here! Addictive this is 😉 good challenge so far?

  3. The Golden Eagle says:

    The computer can be as much of a chain as something fun, I suppose.

  4. Jean Davis says:

    Computers are a big part of my day and night too. There are days it’s hard to imagine being without one. Even if we don’t always enjoy what we do with them. 🙂

  5. My husband has a degree in computers, but he does something totally different, too. Wonder why that is?

  6. Jemima Pett says:

    I’m on my fifth career – some would say I just don’t stick at things but I have enjoyed over 14 years in two of them, and got qualified in both. Now you have work experience, you may find you can search for what you really want to do – but you may have to retrain or update your skills. Always acknowledge the skills that you have gained through what you’ve done. Tech support requires investigative skills, problem solving, handling awkward customers, progress chasing…. 7 years isn’t a huge chunk of your working life as a whole – just the working life you’ve done up to now. But if it pays the bills, then do what you want at home till you can make it pay enough!
    Good luck!
    Jemima at Jemima’s blog

  7. Pete Denton says:

    What would we all do if it weren’t for computers? There’d be no blogging or social media. Newspapers and the tv would be the only source of news and work would be a NIGHTMARE taking forever to do anything. 🙂

  8. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy. I have learn this publish and if I could I wish to counsel you some fascinating issues or suggestions. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I want to read more things about it!

  9. Gladys says:

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad
    that you just shared this useful information with us.

    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Marcia says:

    Nice replies in return of this difficulty with solid arguments and describing everything
    concerning that.

Leave a Reply

