D is for DVDs

When I was in high school there was an ex-rental video store in the town where the school was, so when I had a free period I would go down and started buying some of the ex-rental videos. They came in huge plastic boxes compared to standard videos. I also started buying videos from the supermarket we went to when they opened up a section of the store that sold low price videos. At the time I thought I had bought tons, looking at them now I don’t know why I came to that conclusion. Maybe there’s 20 or so videos in my room.

You should see my DVDs.

I have 4 tall piles of DVDs. Probably easily 100. They take up soo much space, just like my books. When DVDs came out I remember thinking “I don’t see myself buying many of them. I like videos”. Pfft! That lasted long. I now even own 2 BluRay movies as well. I even have some movies on video and DVD. Shame is that nobody wants to buy videos these days, so there’s no chance in selling them. Some charity shops don’t take them anymore. And I don’t want to throw them in the bin. 

Some shows like “Charmed”, I watched on TV and taped them. Then one day I decided I should buy them on DVD. So I bought all the seasons on DVD. Have I watched them? Not really. And “Xena”, I had a few tapes with my favourite episodes on them. I decided to buy that on DVD, again I haven’t really used them. It’s just money sitting there, wasted. Sometimes I will buy a DVD and it will sit in the sellophane for years. And when it comes time for me to finally sit down and watch it, the thing has been on TV about 3 times. Again, wasted money.

My room is so full of stuff like DVDs, Books, cassette tapes, magazines, CDs. They take up so much space, it’s ridiculous.

So D is for DVDs. And the excessive amount of them that I have.

7 thoughts on “D is for DVDs

  1. Joe Owens says:

    With the streaming services and video on demand the physical need for DVDs is waning. I do not ever buy DVDs anymore.

  2. Hart Johnson says:

    We were a little slow changing over, but yeah… we have a ton, too. I try to only buy stuff I will rewatch, but it never works that way. I can’t resist a good deal.

  3. My husband’s collection of vinyl records has just been handed on to our eldest on who cherishes listening to Jimi Hendrix et al the way they were originally recorded…sometimes the way something is produced is important. It is never on equal terms with the product – Hendrix’s guitar rifts are gold however they reach our ears – but they can add value. Books are a good example. There is something very pleasurable about holding a printed book, skimming through it, bookmarking a page, lending it to a friend. ereaders are great but they don’t offer the same experience. DVDs…? They are.just a process

  4. Evalina says:

    Hey, I have never seen ‘Dynasty’ (1981). If you have all 9 seasons I would love talk to you 🙂

  5. Jana says:

    I have the full collection of Disney on VHS! I don’t even have a VCR anymore. LOL So, don’t feel too bad.

    Jana @ A Novel Reality

  6. Pete Denton says:

    I’m the same. I owned tons of stuff on video and bought a number of them on DVD and now have a few of them on Blu-ray. Is there no end to the number of times I have to purchase my favourite films? 🙂

  7. I have Charmed on DVD as well. We watched it when it was new and then bought the big “Book of Shadows” set. We only got half-way through.

    Still though I like having it.


    Tim Brannan
    The Other Side and The Witch
    Red Sonja: She-Devil with a Sword
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

Leave a Reply

