Tegan and Sara Concert – June 9th 2013

I arrived at the train station to find a “Service disruptions” noticeboard outside the station. I went into the ticket office and asked for the ticket I wanted, and was told they weren’t selling tickets. There had been some earlier signal problems and they had no idea if or when the trains were running. After frantic worrying, I finally got on a train about 20 minutes later. There were no ticket inspectors on the train so when I arrived in Glasgow there was a huge queue to buy tickets. Eventually a woman opened the barriers and let us through without a ticket. I walked fast to the venue and seen the huge decker tour bus outside. Then I seen some people queuing, walked along and turned the corner to see the queue continue all the way up the hill and round the back of some buildings. I happened to notice some other Tumblr users/Tweeters I had chatted to previously so I tapped one on the shoulder and went in line with them. We waited what seemed like ages before getting into the venue. They had a poster with the times and it mentioned the curfew was at 11pm. I had emailed the venue the previous week and was told it would end at 10, so I was a bit disappointed as it meant that I would miss some of the show to catch the last train home, and with the issues getting in I wanted to get there in plenty of time just incase. Once we were in the venue they then checked our bags, and after getting up the stairs the venue was so dark I couldn’t see the girls I had went in with, so I went to the toilet, over to the merch stall and got my “Go / Please Stay” t-shirt I wanted, then went to the bar and made my way to the stage, all the while unable to find the girls. A girl and a couple of guys stood near me and the guys went to the bar, after a while the girl started talking to me as she had basically been deserted by her friends. So I stood with her through the gig, at the extreme edge of the stage, Sara side, about 2 rows back. Waxahatchee was great. Then it seemed like forever (like really… aaaages) before Tegan and Sara came on stage, all the while i’m frantically checking my watch hoping I get to see a fair bit. Eventually they came on stage, and I felt like I was watching them on YouTube but on a massive screen, It just didn’t seem real that they were so close, and they looked just like they do in the videos and photos. Absolutely beautiful.

I chose Sara side but was surprised how close the microphones were. I always thought they had a huge gap between them on stage. Had I chosen Tegan side I would have got both girls in my photos, and seen Ted. He was hidden behind the speakers where I was standing. Seen his head a couple of times, I was like “Ted!” 🙂 Even Sara was further away from me than I expected. But it was an awesome view all the same. I basically spent the whole show looking at Sara, as Tegan was further away and a lot of the time went back behind Sara so I couldn’t see. I spent every night watching YouTube videos for months before so in a way it feels like I wasn’t really there, like it was some sort of dream. But parts come back to me sometimes.

They didn’t have a lot of banter, Sara got a lighter thrown at her which said “Fancy a fuck?” but had no lighter fluid left in it, so she slagged that off for a while. And at one stage someone threw a bouquet of fake flowers at her feet while she tuned her guitar, and she had this adorable look on her face. I took a bunch of photos and videos, but since I was 2 rows away from the speaker the quality of the audio is pretty shit. They played a heap of songs, probably i’ve missed some but I remember:

The Con, Walking with a ghost, Now i’m all messed up, Hop a plane, Call it off, Arrow, I couldn’t be your friend, How come you don’t want me now, I was a fool, Drove me wild, Feel it in my bones, Alligator, Back in your head, Where does the good go, Goodbye goodbye, Shock to your system…

Sara messed the words/forgot the words to one song. So for a second, I got to go “awww” but I can’t remember what song it was.

I left around 10:25 and went to the merch stall to buy a prism t-shirt as I had seen a girl wearing one and had a spur of the moment “just wear that with pride” idea, as I am always shy with people knowing what kind of music I like, and I thought “I fucking love these guys. I need to wear a t-shirt and just say fuck you to people who don’t like them”. So I bought that, and asked the guy if they had the mailbox somewhere, and he said he would take it, so I gave him a letter I had written. When I turned round there was a woman standing alone against the wall near the merch stand and it was their mom! I’m 90% sure it was their mom. She had lighter hair than I thought she had, and I broke out in this geeky awkward smile and walked past her, I said “hello” and sort of laughed embarrassedly at the same time. She said “hi” and smiled back shyly. I’m sure she said hi, quietly. Then I walked off in a daze. I went to the toilet and listened to them play “Nineteen” and start some banter before I headed out the door. I was a bit sad I missed the medley, and I arrived at the train station platform 10 minutes early for my train, but I had an awesome night all the same.

When I looked at my photos, I found this really dark green shaded one of Sara and I blew it up and auto corrected the colours and I chose to believe that Sara is smiling at me. She probably isn’t but a girl can dream. She looked my way when I was filming a couple of times, and I think my heart skipped a few beats. Shame my videos sound shit, but they are memories all the same. A girl has put a video medley on YouTube and the audio quality is awesome, some banter is in their too. But i’ll always have the memories in my head, and if they come to Glasgow again i’ll maybe get a VIP ticket 🙂 And leave my camera at home, or just not record video and stick with photos. I would have been able to enjoy/get into it more.

Image

Image

One thought on “Tegan and Sara Concert – June 9th 2013

  1. Sarah Allen says:

    I had some college roommates who ADORED Tegan and Sara. I just…I just can’t get into them.

    Sarah Allen
    (From Sarah, With Joy)

Leave a Reply

